Google Allows You To Block Websites

Just this past week Google enabled a new feature that you will see in the search results underneath the website you clicked, did not find what you wanted, and want to now block from your personal search results. The link just to the right of the “cached” page link will read “Block all example.com results”. When you click this link Google will not show results in the future from this domain in your personal search results.

What is extremely interesting to me is that now Google will incorporate these “block this” votes in their organic algorithm. Google’s whole focus is on improving search quality for readers. The “block  this” votes are recorded in your personal search history settings. Here’s exactly what Google says on this important new ranking topic.

“You’ve probably had the experience where you’ve clicked a result and it wasn’t quite what you were looking for. Many times you’ll head right back to Google. Perhaps the result just wasn’t quite right, but sometimes you may dislike the site in general, whether it’s offensive, pornographic or of generally low quality. For times like these, you’ll start seeing a new option to block particular domains from your future search results. Now when you click a result and then return to Google, you’ll find a new link next to “Cached” that reads “Block all example.com results.”

If you’ve made a mistake and blocked a site by accident and want to see the search listings again, you will need to login to your Google account and make the changes from there on your new blocked sites page. For the full information as well as screen shots, visit the Google Webmaster blog.

Share