Is Search Engine Optimization for You?

Nancy McCord a Google Partner and Bing Partner
Nancy McCord a Google Partner and Bing Partner

Search engine optimization is not for every website. Although search engine optimization can really improve the organic search results for some websites, there are a couple of considerations when search engine optimization should not be considered and maybe a full site redesign may be a better investment of money and time.

When not to do search engine optimization:

  1. If your site is created in a template and the site layout becomes broken when new content is added.
  2. Your site looks funny in browsers other than Chrome and Firefox.
  3. You have a site designed using Flash or tables for your layout.
  4. Your website looks dated or non-professional.

As search engine optimization is not inexpensive, in some cases the money that would have been spent on search engine optimization would be better spent on a new search engine friendly design with built-in optimization features.


Bing Ads Accredited Professionals

Nancy McCord is and now Rebecca and Roberta McCord are Bing Ads Accredited Professionals.

This last week I recertified my Bing Ads professional credentials for another year and renewed my Bing Partner status.

Additionally, two of my staff members, Rebecca A. McCord and Roberta S. McCord, passed the exam for the first time to become as Bing Accredited Professionals. Both are my daughters and work in my business to assist with client account management.

Certifications assure that your account management is done by professionals with knowledge of the pay per click platforms and how to optimize accounts. Both team members still work closely with me and perform account review and management under my supervision as they work to develop strong expertise on their own.

Congratulations Rebecca and Roberta!


Make Google Ads Profitable for Your Business

Nancy C. McCord, Owner of McCord Web Services LLC
Nancy C. McCord, Owner of McCord Web Services LLC

Often in strange economic times a business may need to trim back Google Ads budgets. We are definitely in one of those strange periods where interest in services appears to be high, but customers are not moving into conversions.

The stock market and drama within the federal government have created a climate of “wait and see”. But advertisers are working to fiercely compete in Google Ads for the available clicks even if customers are not moving to buy.

If and when you have to cut back your advertising budget; do it smartly based on conversions and value to your business.

First, sort your data for a longer period than 30 days. I will usually use a 6 month period. Note the conversions of each campaign to the total as a percentage. Then decide on the new total 30 day ad spend you can live with. Divide that number by 30.4 to arrive at your daily ad spend budget.

Multiply your daily budget by the conversion percent of each ad group to arrive at your new campaign budget. Then look to do a reality check. If you’ve got remarketing at less than $10 a day Google really will not serve that program. If you have some campaigns at $10 or $15 a day but your average cost per click is $5, you will get very little activity for that program.

Instead consider grouping some of those low budget items into a shared budget to try to help Google be able to serve your programs that you have put on a diet.

Remember, big changes to your budget will take about 7 to 14 days for Google to adjust to again. Be patient to see results at your new lower budget.