As a Google Partner and long time professionally certified AdWords account manager I would like to demystify what is happening when AdWords marks some of your keywords as “Low Search Volume”.
First, we routinely delete these keywords in an AdWords account, but only for mature accounts and only after we have done a reality check to assure that the keyword has not generated lead conversions in the past.
AdWords says this about Low Search Volume keywords:
Keywords marked as “Low search volume” are associated with very little search traffic on Google, an indication that they’re not very relevant to most customers’ searches. For this reason, Google temporarily makes these keywords inactive so that they don’t trigger your ads.
When we manage an AdWords account, we will typically remove these terms and then look to add other terms to your program using the AdWords keyword planner to find alternatives that cover the same meaning but may return higher search volume.
We remove the keywords from your account to allow for easier management and to focus on terms in your account that will drive traffic and conversions.
If most of your keywords are showing as Low Search Volume keywords, I would recommend doing additional keyword discovery, reviewing to see if your phrases are too restrictive, and if a change to match type may make a difference in getting Google to serve ads.
If you need an experienced account AdWords manager to whip your AdWords account into shape, please contact us to see if we might be a good match for your needs.
AdWords ads work because they are relevant! It used to be that a person who used Google looked for the organic listings as they were near the top of the page and it was commonly thought that they were more authentic. That is not the case today.
Google in its efforts to sell more ad space has aggressively sought to make ads more relevant to your every day experience. By tracking you relentlessly on mobile and desktop, Google has created a profile about you and serves ads based on your profile. What has happened is that the ads and listings we now see on searches are immediately relevant based on our searches and historical use.
In addition, AdWords ads work to draw you in with extensions like maps, phone numbers, addresses, deep links into a site, customer reviews, rating stars – all served from the AdWords interface. Google determines when to show these extensions based on your proximity to a business, timing of a search, and your location. AdWords ads work because of Google intrusive anti-privacy approach, but we love the results! And businesses are generating “bank” from AdWords ad exposure.
The screen shot to the right for a search for plastic surgeons in Miami Florida is shown on the top right. You can see from the screen above the fold that there are only paid listings and Google Maps listings and several of those maps listings may actually be paid listings. You have to really want to see the organic listings by scrolling to see the results. This is why AdWords works!
If you are looking for a skilled AdWords account manager, please visit our website to find out more about how we can help you today.
Low budget AdWords – is there such a thing? Yes, AdWords has a number of programs that work even for low budget accounts. Here are my suggestions.
Get good results with a relatively low budget in a semi automated program that targets ads to customers in your local area. You can now remove keywords that Google auto selects that you do not like and you only have to create one ad.
Be careful when you start set up that you really think about your goal or you will end up with ads for phone calls only or those that never show your phone number.
Do not run multiple ads at a time as each ad has it’s own budget and does not share one account budget.
AdWords Dynamic Search Ads and Remarketing
For clients who do not have high expectations for performance and are not relying on AdWords to drive a high number of clicks Dynamic Search Ads and remarketing may be a good choice.
To effectively use Dynamic Search Ads your website really should be 30 to 50 pages or more. Little sites simply will not get traction in this program.
Remarketing ads may take two to six months to build up the cookie list is traffic is low. For remarketing ads to show in the Display network you’ll need 100 cookie sets and for remarketing for search ads or RLSA you’ll need 1,000 cookie sets. For small businesses it may take more than one month to get the 100 cookie sets.
If you are looking for a savvy AdWords Manager to help you get going with AdWords or to discuss your options, visit our website to find out more about how we can help you with AdWords.
We have also found that to just drop your “clickee” on the home page of your website is not effective in creating a good conversion rate and does not get your program a good quality score rating. We have learned to create a landing page for each ad group theme. We include sales content that is short and focused, with a keen call to action. We even include a small online contact form as well as phone numbers. All of these things help to increase your conversion rate — turning prospects into buyers!
The bottom line is if you are paying $300 for each newspaper ad, $500 each month for 20 qualified leads, or simply doing no advertising at all, just hoping that a prospect will stumble across your website, you may want to consider advertising your products and services on Google AdWords.
With AdWords, after set up, your ads show up in several hours to a day or so, you may make unlimited changes, and you may pause an ad or ad group at any time. You can even set up and monitor your own account without professional assistance.
However, if you don’t want to go it alone, see us for pricing on professional set up and management of your campaign. We will research your competition, set up your account, craft your ad text, create your landing pages, monitor your account every day, and report to you about your campaign activity with our recommendations for action.
We can put AdWords to work for you bringing you qualified prospects and sales.
If you would like to know where your AdWords ad will show in the Google content network if you select to show your ads there, view this list from Google of the display network and partner sites.
We think one of the smartest things that Google AdWords does is use a tool called the “Ad Discounter”.
Everyone wants their ads at the top of the page! To get there, you need to set your maximum cost per click at a reasonable, yet high figure, and your daily budget high enough to place your ad in the top 3 slots.
This is where the Ad Discounter kicks in. You only pay $.01 more than the highest current cost per click. So even if you said you would pay $5 as your maximum cost per click, and the going rate is $2.65, you will pay only $2.66 for your click.
The minimum cost per click is $.05, but be prepared to pay more depending on how popular your keywords are. Be cautious on setting your maximum cost per click too high as Google is able to charge you as much as your maximum figure for each click!
In addition to your cost per click setting Google will also evaluate your ad text, keywords, and landing page to assign a quality score. This score plus your maximum cost per click will determine your ad rank on the search query return page on Google.com.
What you pay for each AdWords Cost Per Click (CPC) is determined by you! How frequently your ad is served is determined by the maximum CPC and your ad’s daily budget. You can select to show your ads globally, nationally, regionally, or even in a targeted area determined by your address or by latitude and longitude.
Not only does Google show your targeted keyword ads in its huge search network consisting of additional partners like AOL, The New York Times, and Amazon.com, but your ad (after about 2 days) could be shown in Google’s Display network and on websites showing Google AdSense ads. Your ad will appear on sites like The Washington Post, Forbes.com, CNet, private websites, shopping comparison networks, and even in e-newsletters.
Your CPC is less when your click comes from the display network and is even based on which site delivers the highest documented click through rate.